2009: Year In Review

What did you do in 2009 that you’ve never done before?
I paid off not one, but TWO credit cards!
Did you keep your New Year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I can only remember two: I wanted to log 500 running miles and develop a likeness (or at least a lesser degree of hatred) for onions. Both were a no-go.
Did anyone close to you give birth?
No, but a close friend is due any day now!
Did anyone close to you die?
Cancer is evil.
What countries did you visit?
Do frequent trips to Dreamland count? No? Then none.
What would you like to have in 2010 that you lacked in 2009?
Comedic timing. But I lack wit too, so maybe I’d like to have that first. Don’t want to put the cart before the horse.
What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Running a half-marathon solo (figuratively and literally). First, my running partner got injured a week before the race, and then on the day, I got lost getting to the event and started 15 minutes late, after everyone else was long gone.
What was your biggest failure?
Too many times I gave up too soon.
Did you suffer illness or injury?
No, but I did get to ride in one of those emergency mountain sleds. I had been on the ski lift for four minutes of what I thought would be a two minute ride, and there was still no end in sight. It wasn’t until I looked down and saw RAMPS(!) and people doing crazy flips that I started planning my escape route. Once grounded, snowboard in arm, I began the tedious walk back to the bunny slope. I had only made it a few yards before emergency personnel spotted me and offered to give me a ride. It was the highlight of my day.
What was the best thing you bought?
It was a gift, so technically I didn’t buy it, but it has to be my TomTom. I still get lost but at least now I know where I am.
Where did most of your money go?
Late night eBay bidding led to morning-after “You have won” emails. But it was like Christmas in the mail for months.
What did you get really excited about?
Summer! My BFFs visiting!
What song will always remind you of 2009?
“Use Somebody” by Kings of Leon
What do you wish you’d done more of?
Read
What do you wish you’d done less of?
Spend
What was your favorite film?
Slumdog Millionaire, even before the hype. (I thought it fell short of the book, but The Time Traveler’s Wife is an Honorable Mention.)
What was your new favorite TV program?
I was a little late to The Office party, and still catching up on How I Met Your Mother. Modern Family puts the ‘fun’ back in dysfunctional.
What was the best book you read?
Re-read The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova, the only book I read for leisure last year.
What was your greatest musical discovery?
Vienna Teng
What did you want and get?
New eyeglasses–mine was 11 years old! Also a laptop.
What did you want and not get?
New retainers
What did you do on your birthday?
A Cirque du Soleil show welcomed midnight, then I woke up to friends singing and carting in a birthday cake AND my favorite cupcakes. Watched the Bellagio fountain show, then dinner with friends and family. It was perfect.
Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Sam Worthington (Avatar, Terminator Salvation), where have you been all my life?
What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
I’d trade in my hypothetical winning lottery ticket for a date with Sam Worthington.
Who did you miss?
Friends and family
Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
“Ain’t about how fast I get there, ain’t about what’s waiting on the other side. It’s the climb.” – Hannah Montana 😛


One thought on “2009: Year In Review

Leave a Reply

